Home keyboard_arrow_right Businesskeyboard_arrow_right Retailkeyboard_arrow_right News

Fast-fashion label Uniqlo mulls four new store openings this fall

by Apparel Resources News-Desk

13-June-2018  |  2 mins read

Image Courtesy: seattlemag.com

Fast-fashion retail giant Uniqlo has announced its plans to inaugurate another four brick and mortar spaces in Canada this fall.

The upcoming store spaces are lined up to be opened in the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) and the Greater Vancouver Area.

It is being reported that the largest Uniqlo store among these will be opened in the GTA at Vaughan Mills, boasting of a sales floor space exceeding more than 20,000 square feet. The other two stores in the GTA will open at CF Markville and Square One Shopping Centre, and will be spread across approximately 15,000 square feet.

The remaining store will open in British Columbia and will be located in the Coquitlam Centre and occupy more than 12,000 square feet of sales floor space.

Yasuhiro Hayashi, Chief Operating Officer of Uniqlo Canada, said in a statement, “After much demand from loyal customers, we are especially excited to be opening new stores in Ontario for the first time.” The brand will bring LifeWear, thoughtfully created to make everyday life better and more comfortable, to Canada through the launch of new stores.

Notably, the Japanese retailer entered the Canadian market in the fall of 2016 with the opening of its first store in Toronto at the CF Toronto Eaton Centre, followed by a second store opening at Toronto’s Yorkdale Shopping Centre, and the third store opening at Metropolis at Metrotown in Vancouver.

The new store expansions will bring the company’s total store count within Canada to nine including five different locations in Ontario and four in British Columbia.

Uniqlo, which is owned by Fast Retailing Co. Ltd., opened its first-ever store space in Japan in 1984 following which the retailer, designer and manufacturer has opened 2,000 stores in 18 countries worldwide including China, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, and more.