CFDA Awards 2019: Winners of America’s biggest Fashion Awards

by Apparel Resources News-Desk

05-June-2019  |  2 mins read

Jennifer Lopez bags Fashion Icon award at CFDA 2019 (2)
Image Courtesy:

The 2019 CFDA (Council of Fashion Designers of America) Fashion Awards, marking their 38th year, returned to the Brooklyn Museum for the second time. The CFDA utilises this platform to honour American fashion designers across the categories right from women’s wear and men’s wear to accessories and emerging talent.

Adding to the four categories, the CFDA awards also honoured designers, celebrities and fashion world icons with various awards, as Jennifer Lopez received the Fashion Icon Award, and Barbie bagged the Board of Directors’ Tribute Award.

A few weeks back, it was announced that Tom Ford was replacing Diane von Furstenberg as the CFDA’s new chairman after she had served the role for 13 years.

The nominees for different categories were also announced during the same week. The much awaited list of winners for 2019 CFDA awards is as follows:

Image Courtesy:

Womenswear Designer of the Year was won by Brandon Maxwell, who was competing against Marc Jacobs, Kate and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte, Rosie Assoulin and Sander Lak for Sies Marjan.

Emerging Designer of the Year was bagged by Emily Adams Bode for Bode with nominees including Beth Bugdaycay for Foundrae, Heron Preston, Catherine Holstein for Khaite, Sarah Staudinger and George Augusto for Staud and Emily Adams Bod for Bode.

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row  won Accessory Designer of the Year, with other contenders being Jennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fisher Jewelry, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, Tabitha Simmons, Telfar Clemens for Telfar.

Rick Owens bagged Menswear Designer of the Year with the nominees as Mike Amiri for Amiri, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss, Rick Owens and Thom Browne for Thom Browne New York

The other winners included:

Fashion Icon Award: Jennifer Lopez

Valentino Garavani and Giancarlo Giammetti International Award: Sarah Burton, Creative Director at Alexander McQueen

Media Award: Lynn Yaeger, contributing editor and writer at Vogue

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Bob Mackie

Founder’s Award: Carine Roitfeld

Positive Change Award: Eileen Fisher

Board of Directors’ Tribute Award: Barbie

Share This Article